“Going To The Ship” – Ice Bears Head To Nattys!


The Missouri State University Ice Bears, a Division 1 member of the American Collegiate Hockey Association, announce the team has qualified to play in the ACHA Division 1 National Championship tournament held March 8 to 13, 2018 at the OhioHealth Ice Haus in Columbus, Ohio.

The top 17 ranked teams — including three through auto bid — make up the 20-team field that will compete for the 2018 national championship.

The Ice Bears finished the regular season with 22 wins, 13 losses, three overtime losses and one shootout loss to finish at No. 17 in the final ranking period. This marks the highest regular season position in the organization’s three-year history at Division 1 play.

Missouri State will face the University of Arizona in a preliminary game on Thursday, March 8 at 8:45 p.m. The winner will face Minot State, the No. 1 ranked team in the nation, on Friday, March 9 at 8 p.m. Games will be streamed live (click Broadcasts on the Men’s D1 tab on achanationals.com) with Steve Casson calling games involving the Ice Bears.

The Ice Bears will hold its second annual “Skate with the Ice Bears” and fantasy hockey game on Saturday, March 3rd at Mediacom Ice Park. It’s part of Fan Appreciation Night.

Fans can skate for free with the team and fantasy hockey players will join the Ice Bears in a scrimmage game following the skate. Register by emailing r.ashlock@missouristatehockey.com. The fee is $35 to play with all proceeds going toward tournament trip expenses. There will also be a silent auction with hockey-related and other items.

A GoFundMe page has also been setup to raise the $20,000 for tournament travel expenses at:  gofundme.com/send-the-ice-bears-to-nationals

This is the second consecutive season the ACHA is holding all five of its division’s championships (men’s and women’s) in the same location. The tournament is hosted by the Greater Columbus Sports Commission, Columbus Blue Jackets of the NHL, and OhioHealth Chiller Ice Rinks at the OhioHealth Ice Haus, in Columbus. This will be the seventh year of the 20-team format. The University of Central Oklahoma won the 2017 Division 1 championship in Columbus.

First-year head coach Jeremy Law continues a personal string of taking every team to postseason play in his 14-year coaching career. Law previously served for three seasons with the Springfield Express of the Western States Hockey League finishing with a coaching record of 91 wins, 53 losses and 11 overtime losses.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *