Gevers Wins WCHL Rookie of the Year Award

Three Ice Bear players earned four 2015-2016 Western Collegiate Hockey League awards as voted by league coaches and declared by WCHL president Chris Perry.

Marshall Gevers was voted to the WCHL All-Rookie Team and won the WCHL Rookie of the Year award while forward Andrew Kovacich and defenseman Bobby Brown were voted to the WCHL All-League First Team.

Gevers, a freshman from Edwardsville, Illinois finished second in scoring with 42 points including 22 goals and 20 assists. Kovacich, a sophomore from St. Louis, led the team in scoring with 57 points in 39 games. Kovacich netted 26 goals while adding 31 assists and seven power play goals.

Brown, a junior defenseman from Peoria, Arizona, scored four goals adding 25 assists in 38 games for the Ice Bears.

WCHL coaches were asked to submit nominations for each of the postseason awards. For the WCHL All-League First, Second and All-Rookie Team, the coaches were allowed to vote for their own players, but coaches were permitted to vote only one of their own players to each team for consideration.

The WCHL is an eight-team league that includes Arizona, Arkansas, Central Oklahoma, Colorado, Colorado State, Oklahoma and Arizona State, who will resume play in the 2016-17 season. The Sun Devils return a new team to the WCHL after beginning the 2015-16 season as an NCAA Division 1 club.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *